top of page

The Forbidden City

Flickr Photo: ist4u

The Forbidden City was the imperial palace for the emperors during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) and the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). It was so named because you were only allowed to enter if the Emperor gave you permission.
It is sometimes known as The Purple Forbidden City because the North Star, which is referred to as "Zi" or Purple, is a symbol of the Heavenly Emperor  who lived in the Purple Palace.
The Forbidden City contains 980 buildings with around 8,800 rooms. The buildings are predominatly yellow (which symbolise the Emporer and the Royal Family) and red (which is a lucky colour in Chinese culture).
The last Emperor of China, Puyi, remained in the city until 1924, despite being forced to abdicate in 1912. 
The Forbidden City was declared a World Heritage Site in 1987 by UNESCO.
How to get there:
Please note that entry is only allowed through the Meridian Gate, the south gate of the museum.
  • Take Underground Line 1, get off at Tiananmen East Station (Exit A) or Tiananmen West Station (Exit B) and then a short walk north to the Meridian Gate. 
Opening Times:
  • October-April: 8:30am-3:30pm
  • May-September: 8:30am-4:00pm
  • Closed on all Mondays
Admission Cost:
  • November-March: 40CNY
  • April-October: 60CNY

Prices and opening times are subject to change but are  accurate as of April 2016. Please note we are not responsible for these changes.

Flickr Photo:


bottom of page